• Awards


    1987 American Institute of Architecture, Photo Award.
    1989 Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Egypt. First Prize, Snohetta with Ihab El Habbak.
    2004 Chamber of Commerce Headquarters, Egypt, Honorable mention.
    2004 Aga Khan Architectural Award.

    Alexandria Library First Prize Award. 

    On September 25, 1989 an international assemblage of architects including myself received the first prize in an international competition to build a new library in Alexandria, Egypt.

    The competition had over 1,400 entrants representing 77 countries. The jury was composed of 13 distinguished architects and librarians from all over the world.

    I am proud to have accomplished the dream of all architects, which is to have my name on such a great historic building, "BIBLIOTHECA ALEXANDRINA"

    Ihab El Habbak

    Aga Khan Award

    On the 27th of November 2004, The Alexandria Library received the Aga Khan Architecture Award in India.
    Accordingly the Library administration reflected this award to those who had a major role in the design and the construction of the Library, which was held on the 23rd of December 2004.
    Mr. Habbak was among the original design team that won the architectural competition 1989, he was awarded among those who were honored on the Alexandria Library Celebration.